Tags

, , , ,

Welcome to the second installment of the ‘Inspired By…’ series I am doing along with Jen Schow, where we take inspiration from a person, or a moodboard, or another layout, or anything that strikes us with ideas! You can find the video process of this layout here. This episode we chose Shimelle Laine. Watching her videos was what got me back into scrapbooking and finding my own style, so it was an inspiration that was very special to me. I knew I wanted to start with a large chipboard element, as a lot of Shimelles pages have a large embellishment on them. I chose a camera as that is one of her favourite motifs. Camera Close UpI then went through some layouts on her Pinterest Board, and came across this one, which I particularly liked. I wanted to include the circular cluster at the top of the page, and the placement of the other 2 clusters, as well as the long title with 3 different fonts, and the woodgrain elements. Inspiration everywhere!1b0ad925a91b123ee87c150ebdb2010f

The more subtle inspired elements I have included are to use the camera motif 3 times on my page (you will notice the layout by Shimelle includes woodgrain washi at each embellishment cluster, she often brings the same element to three different points on the page in a visual triangle) and to also ensure each colour is used at each of the 3 different points as well (light blue, navy, gold, and kraft). Sprinkled Circles

Here is another close up where you can see that camera motif again, and then an arrow I have used which mirrors an arrow on the wood veneer piece on the other side of the layout. Labels and Flags

Here is the final layout, still with my style, but full of inspiration from the wonderful Shimelle Laine!Smile

