Tags

, , , , ,

I am so thrilled to be a guest designer for November 2014 over at CSI: Color, Stories, Inspiration. A lot of my layouts are inspired by their case files, so it was fun being able to be part of the team for this month. Here is the first challenge I’ve designed for.

cc-3

I start with the colour scheme, and go through my stash to pull out everything in the 5 shades to use. My stash isn’t overly large, so I usually know which collections to look for that will fit the colour requirements. In this case I went straight to the Skylark collection from Close to My Heart. I have actually used this collection for another case file (one of my first blog posts) which you can revisit here, and you will see it has a lot of the same elements, but both pages have a different feel to them.

\Tags and Birds - Juliet Sherriff - This Scrappened

For the evidence, I used bird accents, leaves, dots, mist splatters, and feathers. The feathers are very subtle and are printed in white on the vellum layer, so they are a bit difficult to see in the pictures.

Leaves and Doilies - Juliet Sherriff - This Scrappened

I can’t resist adding doilies to the majority of my layoyuts, and I often die cut leaves to add layers as well. I fussy cut a bird from one of the patterned papers and popped up with foam tape.

Birds and Layers - Juliet Sherriff - This Scrappened

This photo is from our wedding, and was taken in an aviary, (as we got married at a zoo) which was very fitting for the Testimony prompts, as well as the feather and bird accents from above. My journaling reads ‘I love that we got married at Orana Park. It was our first pick of venue, and made our day even more special. It was so serene being outside, nature all around us, and all the animals in the background.‘ This fitted with 3 of the prompts; document something about nature, hand write your journaling, and using the inspiration words – outside, first, and nature. I can’t wait to share other layouts for upcoming case files this month, so make sure you check out each reveal. Happy - Juliet Sherriff - This Scrappened

