Tags

, , ,

Welcome to another sketch reveal at Sketches in Thyme by the fabulous Rochelle Spears.

Sept 15th Sketches in Thyme Reveal

I’m a lover of 1 photo layouts, so this was a great starting point for me. I do hope you will play along – to be eligible to win our amazing prize pack, you need to participate in both sketch challenges for the month of September. The first sketch can be found here. The biggest challenge of this sketch for me were the swirls behind the title. I thought about doodling, using twine, or sewing. I was going through my die cuts and found a gold swirled piece from the Market Street – Ashbury Heights Collection, and decided that would be a perfect substitute. I fiddled with it for a bit but finally got it to work, and it was a lot less work than sewing!

DSC03363 copy

After looking through the rest of the collection, I found a large circle chipboard piece which I have used as the main embellishment on the bottom right. I love adapting sketches, they truly are flexible and you can interpret them to match your own style, and to use pieces from your own stash. I’m not a huge fan of rosettes, so just used the placement and shape to mirror the sketch on my layout, and layered with a doily and another chipboard piece.

DSC03362 copy

Onto the top cluster! Instead of 3 of the same flower elements, I chose to use 3 different circular elements  – a flair, a gold die cut, and a floral brad. I have then grouped three other circular items beside the main cluster, with the smaller elements being sprinkled around 3 points on my layout.

DSC03358 copy

I hope you can see how easy and fun it is to use a sketch for inspiration. Again, feel free to play along and link up your takes on the 2 sketches by the end of September, I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Here is a look at my completed page. DSC03361 copy

