Tags

Apologies for the bombardment of posts – needing to get another layout posted to enter in a challenge before the end of the month! Blogging is new to me so these last few weeks have been a learning curve, and from the 1st September I have a more structured and planned approach in mind. I will be showcasing my work over at Sketches in Thyme twice a month, doing challenges from 4 of my favourite sites – CSI, Scrap our Stash, Scrapbook.com & Scraptastic Club, and doing a tip/storage/review post once a month. On top of this I will also be doing a wee series of page makeovers until I have finished my pile. Look out for the first re-do of a page on Friday the 5th September. However, I digress, back to this post!

I am a subscriber of Scraptastic Club Kits, and since I live in New Zealand, it is an affordable way for me to get a lot of product at a reasonable price. They have challenges each Thursday that run over the month, and the one I am participating in is a Die Cut Challenge to create a background. I also incorporated paper, and did a lot of layering with both the die cuts and the paper from the August Boys of Summer Kit to create the background for my photo. 

DSC03390 copy

I used to have a heap of die cuts that would just sit unused, but now it is unusual for me not to utilise die cuts in my pages. They are great to add to embellishment clusters, to layer up, and to give some interest to the page. I also took a star die cut and used it as a background to my title to help it blend in with the main part of the layout. 

DSC03391 copy

As this was a page about my husband and our boy cat, it was great to have a more masculine kit, as a lot of the products I usually buy are very girly – florals, lace, pinks, mint, bling etc! I loved that sticker that reads ‘just like his Dad’ and because we don’t have any children, thought I could use it on this page to reflect that these two fellas both love sleeping! Don’t forget to check back tomorrow to join our Sketches in Thyme re-launch blog hop. 

???????????????????????????????

 

