Tags

, , , ,

I have decided to take on a big project. Call me crazy, but I am re-doing most of my layouts from about 5 years ago. I have just really recently developed my own style and these old layouts are doing my head in. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and like everything to be cohesive. Luckily a lot of my older layouts were of my nieces & nephews, and instead of redoing those, I organised them in to albums for each kid, and gave them to them as a gift. So I only have about 30 layouts in total to revisit. One of these layouts I had done was about my star sign, Libra, and I liked the idea of keeping the same photo and topic. 

DSC03311 copy

This layout was part of a challenge at http://www.scrapbook.com/gallery/?type=challenge&ch=681 where we chose someone else’s layout and picked out 5 things to incorporate in to our own layout. It’s open until the end of August, so feel free to go check it out. I am really enjoying taking part in challenges, as they get me thinking differently and push me out of my comfort zone. The 5 things I chose were:

1. Use a doily
2. Use florals
3. Use a one word title
4. Use one photo, centered in the layout
5. Use glitter gems

DSC03313 copy

I do love my mists, and every layout I’m doing right now gets a few splatters. Generally I will use one colour, but on his layout I used blue, green, and yellow and I like how it ties all the embellishments and papers together. As one of my prompts was to use florals, I went through my May Scraptastic Kit and picked out all the floral aspects. I mainly used the Jillibean Soup – Cold Avocado Soup Collection, and the Simple Stories – A Charmed Life Collection. 

DSC03309 copy

Now I must confess this photo of me was when I was about 22 – so I look a lot younger & skinnier than I do now! It’s also a really staged photo, which I usually don’t like, but I bet when I’m 80 I will be happy to show this picture to my grandchildren and show them that I wasn’t always old & wrinkly! I also like that I used masculine colours in a feminine way, and might try to do unexpected colours more often.

Libra

