Tags

, , , ,

As I have no children of my own, but yet I love scrapbooking, sometimes I find it difficult when the main subject of most of my layouts is yours truly. It can get a bit monotonous, you feel like people might think you’re vain, and it can be hard to think of interesting titles and journaling ideas. On the other hand, I also feel like when I’m in my twilight years, it will be special to have my own memories, see what I was thinking, what inspired me, and what I loved. It is so hard for me to find pictures of my parents in my childhood album, and I wish more scrapbookers would get in their own pages. So my challenge to you is to make a layout that is all about YOU. No kids, no husbands, no animals, no friends. I found the perfect challenge online for this at http://scrapourstash.blogspot.co.nz/p/current-challenges.html under stash challenge #17. The parameters were to use frames from your stash, and the picture was to be a selfie. I had some papers from the February Scraptastic Kid that I wanted to use. Originally I was going for a red, pink, black & gold scheme, but my end design turned out a lot more monochromatic, as most of the items I pulled were pink & red. I started off by filling out a journaling card of what I was currently doing.

DSC03340 copy

Most of the papers and die cuts as well as the frames were from the Fancy Pants – Be Loved Collection, and Echo Park – Head Over Heels Collection, as well as a few transparencies from Crate Paper – Love Notes.

DSC03341 copy

I wanted a touch of gold, since in the picture I have a chunky gold necklace on, so used gold thickers for my title, as well as putting a touch of gold glitter tape behind the photo, and layering gold sequins on to black.

DSC03339 copy

As usual I finished off the page with mist & sequin clusters, and I am thrilled with how it came out, I am definitely gravitating towards a lot of monochromatic layouts presently. I would love to see any pages you do with your own selfies!

???????????????????????????????

